Facelift for the driver's cab

  • Scope

    The driver’s cab of an urban transit bus is to be modernised, by replacing the old design with a new and fresh, but still functional, design. The WEBER GmbH project team in Aschaffenburg, acting as development partner, accompanied the project manager from the first ideas to the final product, ready for series production.




  • Realisation

    The first free-form surfaces were constructed on the basis of a simple design sketch. This ongoing direct collaboration with the designer was maintained throughout the development process – from construction of the design surfaces (Class A), design validation by package studies, manufacturing feasibility and assembly analysis, through preparation of the design concept and working out of component data, to series production drawings. Various manufacturing processes for components, including injection moulding, RIM and foil foam, were investigated and evaluated in terms of cost/benefit and presented to the customer for a final decision.

    Contrastingly to the design validation phase, intensive coordination with potential tool and series production suppliers took place. Kinematic analysis was used to investigate and simulate various concepts for height adjustment (pull, push designs) and functional models were produced with pneumatic and electromagnetic adjustment.

  • Summary

    • The interplay of design, development and assembly/automation experience at WEBER GmbH permitted a short, efficient development phase
    • Based on the development data obtained, our customer received an innovative, qualitatively validated driver's cab for their new bus

Facelift für den Fahrer­arbeits­platz

  • Aufgabenstellung

    Der Fahrerarbeitsplatz eines Linienbusses sollte modernisiert, d.h. das alte durch ein neues frisches, aber dennoch funktionelles Design ersetzt werden. Als Entwicklungspartner begleitete das Projektteam der WEBER GmbH in Aschaffenburg den Projektverantwortlichen von der ersten Idee bis zum serienreifen Endprodukt.




  • Durchführung

    Auf Basis einer einfachen Design-Handskizze wurden die ersten Freiformflächen erstellt. Diese simultane, direkte Zusammenarbeit mit dem Designer bewährte sich durch den kompletten Entwicklungs­prozess – vom Aufbau der Designflächen (Class A), der Designabsicherung durch Package­untersuchungen, der Herstellbarkeits- und Montageanalyse, über die Konzept­erstellung und Ausarbeitung der Bauteildaten bis hin zu den Serien­zeichnungen. Verschiedene Herstellungs­verfahren für die Bauteile, u.a. Spritzguss, RIM und Folienschaum wurden für den Kunden hinsichtlich Kosten/Nutzen untersucht, bewertet und zur Entscheidungs­findung präsentiert.

    Parallel zur Design­absicherungsphase erfolgte eine intensive Abstimmung mit den möglichen Werkzeug- und Serienlieferanten. Für die Höhenverstell­barkeit wurden verschiedene Konzepte (Zug, Druck) mittels Kinematik­analyse untersucht und simuliert sowie Funktions­modelle mit pneumatischer und elektro­mechanischer Verstellung erstellt.

  • Resümee

    • Das Zusammenspiel von Design-, Entwicklungs- und Montage-/Automatisierungs­erfahrung der WEBER GmbH ermöglichte eine kurze und effiziente Entwicklungsphase
    • Auf Basis der erarbeiteten Entwicklungsdaten erhielt unser Auftraggeber einen innovativen und qualitativ abgesicherten Fahrerarbeitsplatz für den neuen Linienbus